Herzog Foundation Hosts Excellence in Christian Education Awards Gala

The Herzog Foundation hosted its inaugural Excellence in Christian Education Awards Gala at Museum of the Bible in Washington, D.C. on Sept. 24. At the gala, the Herzog Foundation recognized its 12 Christian Teachers of the Year:

  • Adina LeĂłn (Hope Christian Academy – Starke, FL)
  • Annie Pettit (Des Moines Christian – Urbandale, IA)
  • Dorothy Easton (Grace Christian Academy – Merrick, NY)
  • Doyle Philpot (Coastal Christian Preparatory School – Mt. Pleasant, SC)
  • Elizabeth Kendrex (Logos Preparatory Academy – Sugar Land, TX)
  • Greg Finch (Summit Christian Academy – Lees Summit, MO)
  • Jean Auxier (Faith Christian Academy – Kansas City, MO)
  • Jean Chen (Sunrise Christian Academy – Bel Aire, KS)
  • Josh Ernst (Harbor Light Christian School – Harbor Springs, MI)
  • Loren Hopf (Second Baptist School – Houston, TX)
  • Marshall Ellson (Westminster Christian Academy – Huntsville, AL)
  • Nancy Reid (Veritas Christian Academy – Wayland, MA)

Teachers Josh Ernst and Loren Hopf were given special recognition for their contributions in Science and Bible teachings respectively. All 12 teachers received a $2,500 personal check and a $2,500 check for their school to use how they see fit.  

The teachers hail from 10 states – Missouri, Kansas, Iowa, Texas, Alabama, Florida, South Carolina, New York, Michigan, and Massachusetts. Each teachers’ school varies in size, with the smallest school having 125 students enrolled and the largest school having 1,000 students enrolled. The teachers also vary in years of experience, with the most junior teacher having taught for four years and the most senior teacher having taught for 20+ years. 

“Each one of our Christian Teachers of the Year is impressive in their own right. But as a group, they’re even more impressive,” said Herzog Foundation President Darrell Jones. “Collectively, these teachers represent 10 states, 12 schools, thousands of students and decades of teaching experience. We hope this gala helps each teacher garner the recognition they deserve.” 

“When we launched the Herzog Foundation in 2021, one of our first goals was to develop the Herzog Excellence Model for Christian education,” said Herzog Foundation Chairman Todd Graves. “As I look at our 2022 Christian Teachers of the Year, it’s safe to say we achieved this goal. These teachers have set the bar for every other Christian teacher nationwide, and we’re grateful for their commitment to excellence in their classrooms.”   

The Herzog Foundation is currently accepting nominations for the 2023 awards cycle. If you know an excellent Christian teacher, please visit HerzogFoundationAwards.com and fill out the nomination form. 

For more photos and information about the Herzog Foundation’s 2022 Excellence in Christian Education Awards Gala, please visit the photo gallery and watch the video below.


About the Stanley M. Herzog Charitable Foundation  

The Stanley M. Herzog Charitable Foundation is a charitable foundation dedicated to catalyzing and accelerating the development of quality Christ-centered K-12 education so that families and culture flourish.  

Learn more at HerzogFoundation.com